September Soundtrack

image

Summer is officially over. It’s not all doom and gloom though, September is a great month for music this year. With new albums from The Arctic Monkeys, HAIM, London Grammar and Kings of Leon to name a few, there is a lot to get excited about.

Here’s a look at some of the songs that I will be playing on repeat this month.

 The Arctic Monkeys-Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High

Queens of the Stone Age did a terrible cover of this song on Radio1’s  Live Lounge a few days ago, proving that Alex Turner really does do it best.

Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High is the third single from their fifth studio album, AM and I can’t get enough of it. I’ve been a fan of The Arctic Monkeys since their first album, but haven’t really loved any of the songs they’ve released since Teddy Picker. Until now.

Baauer and Just Blaze (feat. Jay Z)-Higher

Grammy award-winning producer Just Blaze and Harlem Shake producer Baauer have teamed up with rap mogul Jay Z for this track. The result? A song that I can’t stop dancing to with the volume turned right up. My neighbours are going to hate me for it!

London Grammar-Wasting My Young Years

This song from the Nottingham-based trio is about hanging on too long to an unhealthy relationship during your youth. You might recognise lead singer Hannah Reid’s voice from Disclosure’s Help Me Lose My Mind. As well as her vocals being likened to Florence Welch, the groups’ overall sound has been compared to that of The XX.

If you want a taste of London Grammar’s music, their track Shyer is iTune’s free single of the week.

Manu Chao-Me Gustas Tu

After spending my whole summer abroad, I have a serious case of holiday blues. It’s raining as I speak, but listening to Manu Chao makes me feel like I’m back on the beach. He tends to use various languages in the same song and his music is influenced by different genres, from rock to reggae. His lyrics take on themes like immigration, love, drugs and often reflect his own left-wing political views.

Sivu-Better Man Than He

I’ve been listening to this song a lot this week. It was produced by Charlie Andrews from Alt-J and the influence of the Alt-J sound is clear when you listen to the track. The song also reminds me of early Radiohead material, so it’s no surprise to learn that Sivu is signed to the same management company.

His voice is beautiful and the video is also worth a look. It features Sivu singing the track while inside an MRI scanner. An original idea and also kind of creepy.

Leave a Reply

