October Soundtrack

Image

Volcano Choir – Comrade

Volcano Choir is the side project of Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and they have just announced their first European tour. I am a huge Bon Iver fan and although I’m somewhat sad that Justin isn’t working on any new material for the band at the moment, Volcano Choir is filling that Bon-shaped hole in the meantime.

Foxes – Youth

Foxes is best known for lending her vocals to Zedd’s Clarity, which has dominated the airwaves all summer, but Youth is the 24 year-old’s debut solo single. Even though the track has been around since 2012 (I first heard it last year when I was living in Spain and I loved it), Foxes decided to release it as a single because it was the first song she wrote.

Swim Deep – Honey (Oceaán Remix)

Birmingham boys Swim Deep’s single Honey has been remixed by Manchester based producer Oceaán. The result is this dreamy, chilled out track that I’ve been listening to before bed. Oceaán’s style is infectious. If that wasn’t enough, it’s available to download for free!

Jake Bugg – What Doesn’t Kill You

This is the first single from Jake Bugg’s new album Shangri La, set to be released on November 18th. What Doesn’t Kill You marks a change in style compared to Jake’s first album and feels more punk-influenced. Although it is quite annoying how many times Jake says “ya know” at the beginning of the video. I’m looking forward to seeing what the new album has to offer.

Drake – Hold On We’re Going Home

I’m going to be honest, I was so sick of seeing pictures of Drake’s new album cover on Instagram that I refused to listen to it. Eventually I gave in and I have to admit I love this song, it reminds me of Find Your Love. Even though Drake has the ability to both sing and rap on a track (“sounds like Drake feat. Drake”) I prefer it when he sings.

P.S I don’t care what Amanda Bynes says, Drake is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

